Yo! Bjork here, blockage in for my account cartage and assets report.
The ambition for these posts is to action readers an all-access canyon to the “business” ancillary of Compression of Yum. We allotment the good, the bad, the admirable and the animal complex with growing a website and axis it into a business. This is our 27th cartage and assets report. You can browse through all of the antecedent letters in the Making Money from a Aliment Blog annal section.
I focus on two things with these letters (1) the assets and costs and (2) the traffic. I additionally accommodate any tips or tricks that we’re acquirements as we abide to acquisition means to abound the blog. Creating an assets from a blog or website isn’t article that happens brief (or alike afterwards a few months). The absoluteness is that it takes an absurd bulk of work.
As a bulk of fact, the “incredible bulk of work” affair has been a constant point of chat with Lindsay and me lately. This accomplished anniversary we had a scattering of canicule that were spent alive aboriginal in the morning until backward at night. By no agency is this consistently a abrogating affair (see the September address about working-incredibly-hard-at-something-you-love) but it becomes a abrogating back that “work abundantly adamantine time” starts to abduct abroad admired moments and activity experiences.
Example: Lindsay and I accept a admirable Fraser Fir Christmas timberline in the bend of our active room. For six canicule beeline it had one accessory blind on it. One. Ornament. We had planned on decorating the timberline the day afterwards we got it, but we rescheduled our Christmas decorating alert during the week, opting instead for assignment that we “had to do.” Sad, but true.
We (I’m talking to you and me) airing a accomplished line. On one hand, we are abundantly adored to accept the befalling to body things (like a blog, business, or non-profit) and be adored for our adamantine assignment and dedication. On the added hand, we are adored to accept bodies and adventures in our lives that can accord aback to us in means that a blog, website, or business never could. The attraction of the tangibleness of numbers and advance can draw us abroad from the beneath actual (but generally added rewarding) time spent accomplishing things like decorating a Christmas timberline with those we adulation most.
Where do you feel like you angular back you airing that line? Do you angular appear alive all the time? Spending time with ancestors and friends? Or do you feel like you’re appealing balanced? I’d adulation to apprehend your thoughts and any admonition you ability accept for me.
Speaking of tangibleness of numbers, let’s booty a attending at the numbers for November.
- BlogHer – $4,335.26
- Tasty Aliment Photography – $3,771.65
- Swoop (BlogHer) – $1,747.49
- Bluehost – $1,495.00
- Lijit – Amalgamated Media – $1,340.40
- Ziplist – $900.99
- Google AdSense – $567.34
- The Buttery Cauliflower Booze eCookbook – $560.25
- Genesis Theme – $242.80
- Elegant Themes – $182.00
- Thesis Theme – $122.43
- Foodie Affair – $51.00
- CPM Only – $47.14
Total Income:: $15,363.75
- Lawyer Fees (Trademark Appliance Process) – $1,550
- Media Temple (Hosting) – $750.00
- eBook Affiliates – $630.65
- Amazon S3 and Cloudfront – $367.33
- Bookkeeping – $300
- Support Agents – $234.25
- Food Expenses- $228.13
- PayPal Transaction Allotment – $215.56
- Recovery Software – $69.00
- Adobe Artistic Cloud – $53.55
- PayPal Website Payments Pro – $30.00
- ViralTag – $28.00
- QuickBooks – $26.95
- Time Doctor – $19.98
- VaultPress – $15.00
- E-Junkie – $15.00
- Props/Utensils – $9.60
- Rafflecopter – $7.99
Total Expenses: $4,550.99
Net Profit: $10,812.76
P.S. If you’re absorbed in acquirements added about some of the means that you can monetize a aliment blog, we animate you to download this chargeless ebook, “16 Means to Monetize Your Aliment Blog,” from our sister site, Food Blogger Pro!
Thoughts On Income
Ouch. Huge dip in BlogHer assets back compared to October. We fabricated $3,000 beneath from BlogHer admitting accepting 10,000 added pageviews this month. I beatific an email to BlogHer to analysis in and they reassured me there was annihilation amiss on our end (yea!) but that it was aloof a bottomward ages for their ad acquirement (boo!). It serves as a acceptable admonition of how ambiguous the ad industry can be.
The abatement from BlogHer provided action to revisit the ad units on Compression of Yum to accomplish abiding aggregate was optimized. The absoluteness is that best ad units are not authoritative as abundant as they could be. I begin this to be accurate with Compression of Yum afterwards reviewing our announcement setup.
The better change I fabricated was adjusting the advancement ad cipher (also alleged absence ad code) for the BlogHer ads. Previously, if BlogHer didn’t accept any advantageous ads, it would absence to centralized Compression of Yum ads for Appetizing Aliment Photography and Food Blogger Pro. For instance, if the 160×600 BlogHer ad in the top appropriate bend didn’t accept an ad to show, it would appearance an ad for Appetizing Aliment Photography. Aftermost ages this ad accustomed aloof over 750 clicks. The Appetizing Aliment Photography folio has about a 1% chat rate, so that agency we were earning about $140 from that banner. Accessible for some math?
Estimated balance from the centralized ad = 750 (total clicks) * 1% (conversion rate) * $19 (cost of eBook) = $142.5
That ad was apparent aloof over 800,000 times, so…
CPM for centralized ad = ($142.5 / 800,000) * 1,000 = $0.17 CPM
That’s a appealing low CPM, so I replaced that centralized ad with cipher from Google AdSense, which commonly performs bigger than $0.17 CPM. Analysis aback abutting ages to see how that change turns out. 🙂
We afresh accustomed an email from BlogHer allegorical us that application third affair advancement ad cipher is article they no best allow. They’ve grandfathered in those that acclimated it before, but new BlogHer applications charge use BlogHer’s absence ad code, alleged PubMatic. The PubMatic CPM was $0.88 in November, which is appealing good. Here’s what BlogHer had to say about it:
BlogHer pays a account fee for every distinct ad consequence that passes through our ad code, including exceptional advertising, programmatic and advancement announcement from our ally at PubMatic, adaptable advertising, and alike contributed PSAs. We additionally charge pay that account fee for non-network advancement code, and we lose the adeptness to advertise the account that is actuality abounding by your added providers in PubMatic’s programmatic exchange.
Again, $0.88 is a appropriate CPM for advancement ad code. We ability alike agreement with aloof behind to PubMatic afterwards this agreement with AdSense.
Black Friday/Cyber Monday
This was the aboriginal time we alternate in Atramentous Friday/Cyber Monday from the merchant ancillary of things. I absolutely had no abstraction what to apprehend but was abundantly afraid with the aftereffect of the “Gobblepalooza” auction that we ran on Compression of Yum and Aliment Blogger Pro.
Here’s a screenshot of Aliment Blogger Pro’s assets that helps to accord an abstraction of the huge fasten that occurred because of the anniversary weekend sale.
The accustomed per day assets from Aliment Blogger Pro is $50 – $100 dollars. The auction weekend makes the boilerplate circadian bulk assume like zero! It’s by far the best auspiciously 30 day aeon we’ve had with Aliment Blogger Pro. It fabricated me apprehend two things:
- Time spent business a artefact is able-bodied account it, abnormally during times back bodies are in a customer mindset.
- I’ve done a abhorrent job business Aliment Blogger Pro.
These two things calm accept encouraged me to put on my business hat with Aliment Blogger Pro and alpha experimenting with altered types of business and promotion. We’re currently experimenting with application AdWords, so you ability apprehension some Aliment Blogger Pro ads on altered food-oriented sites about the internet.
What’s with The Advocate Fees?
We started the action of trademarking the Compression of Yum name and logo! Julie’s Trademarking your Blog Name column aggressive us to get in accessory and accomplish this happen. Thanks, Julie!
Below are some screenshots from Google Analytics. You can bang on these screenshots to appearance a beyond image.
Top Ten Cartage Sources
Mobile Vs. Desktop Traffic
Thoughts On Traffic
Facebook, Landing Pages, and SEO
Pinterest continues to be our cardinal one cartage source. As we’ve discussed afore this is (1) abundant to accept a lot of cartage from Pinterest and (2) alarming because one baby change from Pinterest could accomplish all that cartage disappear. In last month’s report, I aggregate the accomplish we took to actualize a fan aboideau on Compression of Yum’s Facebook page.
This ages we took it a footfall added by creating a landing folio for the fan gate. It’s a baby change that could accept a big appulse on the cardinal of bodies that end up affection Compression of Yum on Facebook.
Here’s why we created the new page:
Before, whenever we mentioned the chargeless cookbook download, we would accelerate bodies directly to the Facebook page. Now, instead of sending bodies anon to Facebook, we aboriginal absolute them to this free cookbook page. This is acceptable for two reasons:
- The folio provides bright instructions for bodies on how to download the cookbook.
- More importantly, it gives us the adeptness to body up the SEO of a specific folio about the “free cookbook” keyword.
For example, we can now actualize a articulation that says “free cookbook” and point anon to the landing folio (like I did in the branch aloft this one). This is a little clue to Google that the agreeable of that folio apparently has to do with chargeless cookbooks. Let’s pretend that addition abroad downloads the cookbook, brand the agreeable and decides to allotment it with their readers. There’s a acceptable adventitious the articulation they actualize will additionally point to the landing folio and say article like “Pinch of Yum’s chargeless cookbook.” This is addition little clue to Google that the folio contains advice about a chargeless cookbook. The added this happens, the added Google is clued into the actuality that this folio is a abundant ability for anyone that is analytic for a chargeless cookbook.
We’ve acclimated a agnate action with the “how to alpha a aliment blog” folio and the “making money from a aliment blog” athenaeum page. Aggravating Googling those. Compression of Yum ability not appearance up as #1, but we’re apparently on the aboriginal page. This blazon of advised agreeable conception is alleged SEO, or chase agent optimization. In this case, our keyword (keyword is an SEO appellation for the byword that you’re targeting), is free cookbook. There are lots of factors that go into SEO, but links are one of the best important factors.
This blazon of SEO cartage is absolutely admired because these visitors were actively analytic for the agreeable that we’re offering. It’s absolutely adamantine to actuate addition to download a chargeless cookbook back they came to the blog for a amber dent cookie recipe. It’s a lot easier to actuate addition to download a chargeless cookbook if they’ve accustomed afterwards Googling “free cookbook.”
If you’re absorbed in acquirements added about SEO analysis out Moz. They accept some absolutely accessible and easy-to-understand SEO resources.
Chicken Or Egg? Cartage Or Ads?
I’ve had a scattering of bodies ask about back they should put ads on their new aliment blog. The acknowledgment is that there isn’t an answer, but in general, it’s bigger to do it eventually than later. Here’s why:
Starting and growing a aliment blog is a lot of work, abnormally in the aboriginal year back you’re aloof accepting up and running. It’s about affirmed that you won’t accomplish abundant money at all in the aboriginal year. However, alike aloof a few cents a day can accommodate action and appearance you that at atomic something is advancing aback for all the adamantine assignment you’re doing.
We started agreement ads on Compression of Yum a little over a year afterwards we started. If I had any clue what-so-ever about announcement at that time (which I didn’t) I would accept placed ads on the armpit abundant earlier. It’s not that we would accept fabricated abundant from it, but it would accept apparent us it’s possible, which is one of the best important things back you’re aboriginal starting out. The aboriginal time we fabricated a dollar from Compression of Yum was a big deal! It fabricated use apprehend that we could again accomplish two dollars!
Here’s a blueprint that shows the cartage on Compression of Yum over the aftermost four years forth with assorted milestones. You can bang on the angel to appearance the full-size angel in addition window.
Because Of You
Without you, this affair we alarm Compression of Yum wouldn’t exist. Lindsay and I can’t accurate abundant how abundant we acknowledge you afterward along, commenting, tweeting, and emailing to say hi. It warms our arctic Minnesota hearts.
We’re application a allocation of this month’s assets from Compression of Yum to abutment a appropriate activity at the Children’s Apartment of Cebu, an abode area Lindsay and I lived and formed for a year. The appropriate activity is purchasing new kitchen equipment for the four altered homes at the shelter! It seemed like there was addition affable all the time back we were at CSC, so we’re aflame to accommodate some new accessories for the homes there.
Thanks afresh for reading, and hopefully allocution to you soon!